Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » Appearance » Widgets » and move Gabfire Widget: Social into that MastheadOverlay zone

Shrewsbury High Robotics Team – The Torch of Innovative Thinking

SHS Robotics Press Release 1SHREWSBURY, Massachusetts – After three invitations to the FIRST Robotics World Championships, Shrewsbury High School Robotics Team #467 is going for number four! One way to get a ticket to the world championships in St. Louis, is to enter a winning robot. The other way is to win FIRST’s coveted and competitive Chairman’s Award. Inventor Dean Kamen founded the FIRST robotics league (For Inspiration and Recognition of Science and Technology) in 1989 as a way to introduce science and technology to young people. The FIRST Chairman’s Award is given to the team who best embodies the purpose and goals of STEM (Science Technology Engineering and Mathematics).

While feverishly building a robot in the short six week build season, the Shrewsbury Colonials are also producing a video and essay entry for the prestigious FIRST Chairman’s Award. The entry demonstrates how the eighteenth century Colonial, George Washington ignited the torch of progressive thinking, and as twenty-first century Colonials, Team 467 proudly carries that torch forward to scientific and engineering innovation. As Washington spread a message of change for a better future, so too does the SHS Robotics team. The team works to change the way young people regard science and technology by mentoring the town’s Junior Lego Robotics program, running a summer engineering camp, hosting the area’s largest Lego Robotics competition, and presenting to the Shrewsbury public school 4th graders as a part of their Simple Machines curriculum.

The Chairman’s Award entry will be submitted next month at the WPI FIRST Robotics regional competition.



Photo: In front of Shrewsbury’s historical Pease Tavern, Shrewsbury Colonials Robotics team members “take the torch” of innovation from the original forward thinking Colonial, George Washington.

Photo ID: L to R team members: Junior Karina Naras, Seniors Himanshu Dedge and Joe Fitzpatrick, and sophomore Becca McBrayer.

Photo credit: Sira Naras

Did you like this article? Share it with your friends by clicking one of the icons below...
Keamy Eye Center. Click here for more info

You must be logged in to post a comment Login