Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » Appearance » Widgets » and move Gabfire Widget: Social into that MastheadOverlay zone

Shrewsbury’s St. Mary CYO Boys Win “A” Division Hoop Championship!

20140223_191217-1SHREWSBURY, Massachusetts – St. Mary’s Boys’ of Shrewsbury captured the 2014 CYO (Diocese of Worcester – Youth Ministry) Basketball “A” Division League Championship on Sunday February 23rd, 2014 at Mount Carmel in Worcester. Led by Casey Campanale (13 points), Tim McMaster (12 points) and Joe Fontaine (10 points) the 4th ranked St. Mary’s team upset higher ranked opponents on consecutive nights. After advancing to the semifinals with a Friday night victory over Our Lady of the Rosary, St. Mary’s then moved on defeat top ranked St. Matthews 37-27 in a tough defensive battle on Saturday evening. The victories carried them into the Final’s versus a very talented and physical St. George’s Basketball Squad. Relying on hustle and solid team defense, St. Mary’s defeated St. George’s 47-44 in a close game in which they never trailed.

The team was also honored with the 2014 “Spirit Award” Trophy for the best conduct and sportsmanship exhibited on the court during the entire season. The St. Mary’s team is entirely comprised of High School Juniors from Shrewsbury High School, St. John’s High School and the St. Mark’s School. Next year, they will return their entire team and attempt to defend their title and repeat as League Champions. St. Mary’s is coached by Jim Vuona and Bob Olson of Shrewsbury.

Three other St. Mary’s High School Aged Boy’s teams advanced in the Worcester Diocese CYO league playoffs as well. Congratulations to St. Mary’s Teams coached by; Mike Cooney for 2nd place in Division “B” , Scott Renaud for 3rd place in Division “A” and Jim Doucet for a 1st round playoff victory in Division “B”. The league is comprised of two (2) Divisions “A” and “B” and has a total of twenty-two (22) high school aged boys teams from central Massachusetts area Church Parishes that compete.

Pictured (L/R): Jack Campanale, Casey Campanale, Brandon Bourette, Logan Edstrom, Joe Jennison, Charles Batchelder, Nick Dell’Olio, Tim McMaster, Joe Fontaine, Dalton Olson, Coaches: Bob Olson and Jim Vuona (Team Members Not Pictured: Drew Ladner and Anthony Froio.

Did you like this article? Share it with your friends by clicking one of the icons below...
Keamy Eye Center. Click here for more info

You must be logged in to post a comment Login